Scott Kingery Named Gregg Olson Award Semifinalist - Tucson Local Media: Sports

Scott Kingery Named Gregg Olson Award Semifinalist

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, May 30, 2014 1:26 pm

University of Arizona baseball player Scott Kingery has been named a semifinalist for the Gregg Olson Award, an honor to be presented to college baseball’s breakout player of the year. The annual award is given to a top amateur baseball player who elevates his game to an elite level throughout the season.

A native of Phoenix, Ariz., Kingery improved his batting average nearly 100 points from his freshman year, when he batted .261 in 2013. This season, Kingery turned in a breakout season while leading the Wildcats with a .354 batting average, which was also only 10 points shy of Oregon State’s Michael Conforto, who was the conference player of the year and batting champion with a .364 average.

Kingery was named to the Pac-12 Al-Conference team earlier this week. The Wildcat centerfielder finished second in the conference with a .456 on-base percentage and tied for the league lead with 19 stolen bases. With 16 extra base hits, including 11 doubles and a home run, Kingery was second on the team with a .467 slugging percentage. He lead the club with 41 runs scored and added 26 runs batted in.

After serving as a part-time starter in 41 games played a year ago, Kingery started 53 of the club’s 55 games in the recently completed 2014 campaign. His 69 hits this season pushed his two-year career total to 99, and he is 27-for-35 in stolen base tries in his career.

The Gregg Olson Award is named after Olson, a former Auburn pitching great and two-time All American who had breakout sophomore junior seasons for the Tigers. The award was developed to honor college baseball’s success stories and showcase players like Olson who have raised the level of their game through hard work, strength of mind and determination.

Eligible players will be those who are omitted from major publication’s preseason All American prognostications; however by the end of the season their on the field performance will demonstrate that they are among the top amateur baseball players in the nation.

Ball State sophomore pitcher Scott Baker won the inaugural Greg Olson Award in 2013.

The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26. 

© 2017 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

PGA Tour Superstore Grand Opening

More Featured Videos


Follow us on Facebook