Tyler D’Amore, the three-year starting quarterback who led Southern Arizona quarterbacks in yardage this season, is the 5A Southern Region offensive player of the year.

D’Amore is among six first-team performers for the Nighthawks. Mountain View placed two on the first team. And Ironwood Ridge coach Matt Johnson is the region’s coach of the year.

D’Amore is the first-team quarterback. The senior is joined by junior offensive lineman CJ Healey, senior defensive lineman Enrique Diaz, senior linebacker Gabe Campa, junior defensive back Mitch Fischer and sophomore defensive back Tyler Williams on the all-region first team.

Mountain View senior offensive lineman Cody Ayers, senior linebacker Aaron Noel and punter San Wardell also earned first-team recognition.

Northwest players on the all-region second team are Ironwood’s Fischer, as a running back; senior wide receiver Trevor Wesley, and senior offensive lineman Tanner Todd, along with Mountain View senior tight end Aries Hyman, senior defensive lineman Miguel Rojas, Hyman as a linebacker, and junior defensive back Devon McPeek.

Honorable mention players from the two schools are Mountain View’s Weston Kimmel, Chris Delgado, Cris Thorson, Dillon Davidson and Cecil Fuentes, and Ironwood Ridge’s Tyler Grammar, Austin Ballard, Jacob Viesselman and Clay Matthews.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.