Optimists’ field tops 80 young players
Contributed photo, Kirsti Grau and Ian Patterson were the medalists at the 2009 Oro Valley Junior Golf Tournament, put on by the Oro Valley Optimist Club.

More than 80 junior golfers from across Arizona, among them 10 of the state's top 30 ranked players, plied the Oro Valley Country Club Aug. 1-2 in the fourth annual Oro Valley Junior Golf Championship, sponsored by the Oro Valley Optimist Club.

Ian Patterson of Tucson was the boys medalist, posting scores of 73-71 – 144 to defeat Aaron Wong of Chandler by two strokes in a competitive boys 15-18 division.

Kirsti Grau was the medalist among girls, shooting 78 and 80 for a two-day total of 158. She is from Vail.

In the boys 13-14 division, Grady Bourguignon of Yuma carded 76-79 — 155, defeating Trent Terry of Tucson by two strokes.

"Oro Valley Country Club was a terrific host and the membership seemed to enjoy watching the stellar play," Optimist Mike Wilson said.

The event was conducted by the Southern Arizona Junior Golf Association. Trophies and Dick's Sporting Goods gift cards were provided by the Optimists.

The results:

Boys 11-12: 1, Chris Meyers, Oro Valley; 2, Troy Terry, Tucson; 3, Ruben Ruiz, Tucson; 4, James Briggs III, Tucson; 5, Chandler Garcia, Tucson; 6, Daniel Purcell, Scottsdale; 7, Scott McKinley, Oro Valley; 8, James Patmore, Oro Valley.

Boys 13-14: 1, Grady Bourguignon, Yuma; 2, Trent Terry, Tucson; 3, Prescott Mann, Scottsdale; T4, Tyler Rice, Tucson; RT Tanner, Tucson; Eric Barna, Oro Valley; Kevin Goldstein, Oro Valley; 8, Tucker Jackson, Tucson; T9, Jacob Chaney, Chris Cotsones and Jacob Sickler, all of Tucson; T12, Spencer Arnaud and Jake O'Rourke, both of Tucson; 14, Tanner Doughty, Tucson; 15, Jack Ferguson, Tucson; 16, Nick Whalen, Tucson; 17, Collier East, Oro Valley.

Boys 15-18: 1, Ian Patterson, Tucson, 144; 2, Aaron Wong, Chandler; 3, Andrew Gunn, Tucson; 4, Tyler Woodruff, Tucson; 5, David Metz, Tucson; 6, Jaime Waltmire, Tucson; 7, Nathan Wong, Chandler; T8, Luke Niccoli, Scottsdale, and Tyler Cooper, Tucson; T10, Austin Sverdrup, Oro Valley, Scott Morrison, Tucson, Trety Terry, Tucson; T13, Kyle Moeller, Tucson, DJ Niichel, Oro Valley; 15, Manuel Bedoya, Tucson; 16, Nikko Grau, Vail; T17, Buddy Burr and Thomas Olla, Tucson; 19, Danny Carpenter, Vail; 20, Grant Denbrock, Tucson; T21, Zach Emerson and Derek Metz, Tucson; 23, Joey Martinez, Oro Valley.

Boys 9-10: 1, Gavin Cohen, Tucson; 2, Trevor Hecht, Oro Valley; 3, Riley Hollembaek, Vail; 4, Trevor Gregoire, Oro Valley; 5, Christian Smith, Oro Valley; 6, Mason Andersen, Queen Creek; 7, Cameron Scharf, Tucson.

Girls 11-12: 1, Claire Hanson, Tucson; 2, Emma Reyes, Mesa; 3, Torrey Browning, Oro Valley; 4, Andrea Trevino, Tucson.

Girls 13-14: 1, Morgan Messick, Tucson; 2, Miranda Reyes, Mesa; 3, Miranda Leon, Queen Creek.

Girls 15-18: 1, Kirsti Grau, Vail, 158; 2, Grace Tooley, Tucson; 3, Alyssa Vega, Tucson; 4, Elisabeth Morcom, Tucson; 5, Lora Batterton, Tucson; 6, Brianna Ponce, Tucson.

Girls 9-10: 1, Toni St. John, Gilbert; 2, Sydney Bradford, Tucson; 3, Dani Niichel, Oro Valley; 4, Kirsten Garcia, Tucson.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.