NW has 5 on first-team all-5A regional - Tucson Local Media: Sports

NW has 5 on first-team all-5A regional

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:00 am

Players from Northwest schools have earned berths on the 5A Southern all-region football team for 2009.

Two Northwest players have been named to the first-team offense, and they're both running backs. Senior Myles Williams of Mountain View and senior Adrian Brahler of Ironwood Ridge are multi-year starters for their schools.

Earning berths on the second-team offense are Ironwood Ridge junior quarterback Tyler D'Amore and senior wide receiver Matt Walter, Mountain View senior offensive lineman Del Bogart, and senior kick returner Mark Vera of Mountain View.

First-team defensive players are Mountain View junior defensive lineman Hymann Aires, Ironwood Ridge junior linebacker Gabe Campa, and Nighthawk defensive back Mitch Fischer, a sophomore.

Second-team all-region defensive players are Ironwood Ridge senior defensive lineman Alex Banales, Mountain View junior linebacker Kevin Anderson, Mountain View senior defensive back Robert Kallal, and Mountain View junior punter Sam Wardell.

Honorable mention selections from the two schools are:

Ironwood Ridge — Logan Bailey, Austin Ballard, Enrique Diaz, Tyler Grammer, Phil

Satterfield, Dylan Urton, Trevor Wesley, Jacob Vieselman.

Mountain View — Cody Ayers, Jeff Bollnow, Harrison Hughes.

Sunnyside dominated the major awards. Chris Howard is the offensive and regional player of the year. Adam Torralba of Sunnyside is the defensive player of the year.

Salpointe Catholic's Dennis Bene was chosen coach of the year.

© 2017 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

PGA Tour Superstore Grand Opening

More Featured Videos


Follow us on Facebook