Tucson Turf Flag football

Members of the five Tucson Turf Flag Football teams celebrate after winning five national titles at the 19th Annual Hike It and Spike It Flag Football Tournament in Roswell, NM.

Courtesy Tucson Turf Flag Football

Tucson Turf Elite Football swept all five championships they took part in at the 19th Annual Hike It and Spike It Flag Football Tournamentheld in Roswell, NM last weekend.

Tucson Turf was represented in the 8u, 10u, 12u, 14u, and 15u divisions and they won each one. This has never happened in the history of the tournament according to Mike Masunas of Tucson Turf Elite Football. In fact, the program broke its own record of four championships won the year before.

In all, there were 570 teams and almost 4,000 players on 39 fields in this tournament and teams came from all over the United States. In addition to the five youth divisions won by Tucson Turf, there were 34 other age divisions for males, females and co-ed teams.

Players on the 8u team range from 5-8 years old and teams go up to 14-15 years old on the 15u team. “These players, both boys and two girls, showed heart and skill in how they won their games this weekend,” said Masunas. “Their sportsmanship showed at every level. No youth teams from anywhere in the US played better football than these five from Tucson Turf Elite Football.”

Since 2007 Tucson Turf has been competing locally and nationally at the highest level of competition.

“We have been invited by some of the top tournaments in the world and have brought home titles at every level,” said league organizer Toby Bourguet. “Our goal is to bring the level of competition locally to a higher level because it will help our local football players improve in high school. The program is based on ‘attitude’ and ‘effort,’ something every player can control.”

Tucson Turf 7-year Record

Over 600 victories with less than 20 losses nationwide.

2007 Deion Sanders National Flag Champions (10U)
2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 NFL Flag State Champions (8U, 10U, 12U)

2009, 2010, 2011Tucson YMCA City Flag Football Champions (8U, 10U, 12U)
2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 SAYF Flag Football Champions (8U, 11U)

2009, 2010 SAYF MM Tackle Champion

2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 Marana Flag Football Champions

2013 NFL Flag Regional Champions

2012 Roswell National Champions (10U)

2013 Roswell National Champions (10U, 12U, 14U)

2014 Las Vegas Pylon Super Regional 7 on 7 Jr. High Tourney Champions

2014 Glendale Big Red Tournament Champions (10U, 12U)

2014 Roswell National Champions (8U, 10U, 12U, 14U, and 15U)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.