Races are taking final shape for Town of Marana elections this spring.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 8, to file required paperwork with the town clerk’s office.

As of Tuesday morning, petitions with signatures and required paperwork for ballot placement had been filed by incumbent council members Russell Clanagan and Roxanne Ziegler, and challenger Dave Bowen. There are two four-year council terms before the voters.

Jeff Gray has filed a $500 threshold exemption statement as a candidate for the town council. He needs to collect and submit signatures by 5 p.m. Wednesday to qualify for the March ballot, a clerk’s spokeswoman said.

Incumbent Mayor Ed Honea has filed all required signatures and paperwork for his re-election bid. Bret Summers has filed a statement of organization to run for mayor. He has until 5 p.m. Wednesday to submit between 96 and 187 required signatures.

Marana’s primary election is March 8, and the general election is May 17.

No May vote on landfill

Marana voters won’t be asked to revoke town council permissions for the Marana Regional Landfill.

On Nov. 3, the Marana Town Council adopted a zoning change and accepted a development agreement that allows development and construction of the landfill.

On Dec. 3, a 30-day referral period to put the question on the May ballot expired, deputy town clerk Viviana Torres said. “Nothing was filed to challenge the council’s decision,” she said.

Opponents needed 303 valid signatures to place the question on the May ballot.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.