Voters to trim field for corp. commission - Tucson Local Media: Pima Pinal

Voters to trim field for corp. commission

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, August 26, 2008 11:00 pm

On Sept. 2, Democratic and Republican voters are being asked to narrow the fields of candidates for seats on the five-member Arizona Corporation Commission.

Four Democrats and eight Republicans are seeking three nominations in each party.

The Democrats are Sam George, 46, a past Arizona deputy secretary of state; Kara Kelty, 41, a former Flagstaff City Council member; Sandra Kennedy, 48, a restaurateur in Phoenix; and Paul Newman, 54, an attorney who served in the Arizona House, and was on the Cochise County board of supervisors.

The Republicans are John Allen, 45, a businessman who served in the Arizona House; Rick Fowlkes, 62, an engineering consultant; Joseph Hobbs, 67, a telecommunications retiree; Marian McClure, 66, a consumer advocate who served in the Arizona House; Bob Robson, 52, an insurance agent and business owner with experience in the Chandler City Council and the Arizona House; Bob Stump, 37, a journalist who served in the Arizona House; Keith Swapp, 63, a geotechnical engineer with real estate investments; and Barry Wong, 49, an attorney.

Republicans Hobbs, Fowlkes and Swapp are running as a ticket, advocating themselves as “unique” because they are not legislators.

Democrats Kennedy, George and Newman are also running as a ticket, advocating for solar energy investment.

In most states, the commission is referred to as a public service or public utility commission.

“(The Arizona) Commission, however, has responsibilities that go beyond traditional public utilities regulation,” the commission writes on its Web site. “These additional roles include facilitating the incorporation of businesses and organizations, securities regulation and railroad/pipeline safety.”

Arizona Corporation Commission

Vote for three

Democrats — Sam George, Kara Kelty, Sandra Kennedy, Paul Newman.

Republicans — John Allen, Rick Fowlkes, Joseph Hobbs, Marian McClure, Bob Robson, Bob Stump, Keith Swapp, Barry Wong.

On the web:">

© 2017 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

PGA Tour Superstore Grand Opening

More Featured Videos

Featured Videos


Online poll



Follow us on Facebook