Marana Mayor Ed Honea has been chosen as 2009 chair of the Regional Transportation Authority board of directors.

Sahuarita Mayor Lynne Skelton is the new vice chair, with Pascua Yaqui Vice Chairman Robert Valencia the new second vice chair, a release said.

Other 2009 RTA board members include Pima County Supervisor Ramon Valadez, South Tucson Mayor Jennifer Eckstrom, Tucson Mayor Robert Walkup, Oro Valley Mayor Paul Loomis, Valencia, Tohono O’odham Nation Chair Ned Norris Jr., and Arizona State Transportation board member Si Schorr.

The Regional Transportation Authority is the fiscal manager of the $2.1 billion plan approved by Pima County voters in May 2006. It is comprised of representatives from the local jurisdictions in Pima County, including the cities of Tucson and South Tucson, Pima County, the towns of Marana, Oro Valley and Sahuarita, the Pascua Yaqui Tribe and the Tohono O’odham Nation. A representative of the Arizona State Transportation Board also serves on the board.

Visit or call 770-9410.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.