Marana incumbents win seats - Tucson Local Media: Pima Pinal

Marana incumbents win seats

Post elected for first time; McGorray gets a fourth term

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, May 19, 2009 11:00 pm

Marana Town Council incumbents Jon Post and Carol McGorray have retained seats on the town council, according to unofficial tallies of Tuesday’s municipal election.

Post, an appointed incumbent, led the four-person field with 1,672 votes. McGorray was second with 1,392 votes, ahead of challengers Kelle Maslyn (1,236) and Larry Steckler (900), the Pima County Recorder’s Office reported late Tuesday on its Web site.

McGorray was first elected to the town council in March 2001.

Post, owner of Post Farms in Marana, was appointed to the council in January 2008. He succeeded Tim Escobedo, who had resigned his position.

During the March primary, incumbents Herb Kai and Patti Comerford were elected from among seven candidates.

Marana has 17,715 registered voters. In the town's five precincts, 2,921 people voted, representing 16.5 percent of those registered. Of those voters, 2,397 voted early, 524 at the polling places Tuesday.

© 2017 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

PGA Tour Superstore Grand Opening

More Featured Videos

Featured Videos


Online poll



Follow us on Facebook