The field of candidates is set for the 2012 Oro Valley Town Council election.

There are three seats up for reelection, with six candidates meeting the Dec. 14 deadline to run.

Incumbent Bill Garner will be seeking reelection, while sitting Councilman Steve Solomon will go for his first official election.

Solomon was appointed to the Town Council last year.

Mike Zinkin also met the Dec. 14 deadline to submit the required nomination paperwork. Zinkin ran against Mayor Satish Hiremath last year, losing by 35 votes.

Now, Zinkin is running for a four-year council seat.

Rounding out the six candidates are Brendan M. Burns, Mark Napier and Fred Narcaroti.

Councilman Barry Gillaspie is not seeking another term.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.