Vote of confidence - Tucson Local Media: Marana

Vote of confidence

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, March 9, 2011 6:00 am

Marana voters went to the polls yesterday to decide which of four candidates will fill two open spaces on the Marana Town Council.

Incumbents Russell Clanagan and Roxanne Ziegler sought re-election, while newcomers David Bowen and Jeff Gray hoped to claim the seats for themselves. Mayor Ed Honea ran uncontested after challenger Bret Summers withdrew from the race. Election results will be available online at

Volunteers worked Monday preparing for the following day’s primary election, during which each voter was able to cast their ballot for up to two council candidates and once for mayor.

If any candidate receives more than 50 percent of the votes cast, that candidate automatically claims the seat they were running for.

If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the votes cast, a run-off will occur in the general election on May 17. The deadline to register to vote in the May election is April 18.

© 2017 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.


Follow us on Facebook