Marana School Board elections to be decided - Tucson Local Media: News

Marana School Board elections to be decided

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, October 31, 2012 4:00 am

The Marana Unified School District has three of its current school board members seeking reelection as their terms expire, with one challenger.

The three incumbents are Board President Suzanne Hopkins, Vice-President Maribel Lopez and Board Member Dan Post. Roger Condra is looking to take one of their seats on the board.

Lopez and Post have been on the board for the past eight years and Hopkins has been serving on the board for the past 14 years. 

Board members in the Marana School District serve for four years, which begins on Jan. 1, and ends on Dec. 31. The position is unpaid. 

In the Amphitheater School District, Board President Diana Boros, and Board Members Kent Barrabee and Linda Loomis will see their terms expire.

Neither Loomis nor Boros are seeking reelection.

Julie Cozad and Deanna Day were the only ones seeking to fill one of the three open seats on the board. Because two seats were available, and only two were running, the Pima County Board of Supervisors cancelled the election within the district.

© 2017 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

PGA Tour Superstore Grand Opening

More Featured Videos

Featured Videos


Online poll



Follow us on Facebook