Pima Community College

Pima Community College Northwest Campus

Randy Metcalf/The Explorer

The community is invited to join the Northwest Campus on Oct. 18 in celebrating 10 years of academic excellence.

“It’s a celebration for the campus community and the broader Pima County community. It’s also an effort to honor the people who helped bring this campus to fruition 10 years ago. We’ve invited some of the founders of the campus,” said Northwest Campus Acting President Darla Zirbes.

In 1998, the College opened the Northwest Community Learning Center, the forerunner to the 2003 establishment of the Northwest Campus. The campus includes six buildings, with a new classroom/laboratory building scheduled to open in spring 2014. The Northwest Campus serves about 10,000 students annually.

“The Northwest Campus has really increased educational opportunities, not only in northwest Tucson, but also in Pinal County. This campus is crucial to the economic viability of the businesses and the people who live in this area,” Zirbes said.

“It’s been a great asset to the business community and to residents who want to further their education,” said Ed Stolmaker, president/CEO of the Marana Chamber of Commerce. “It’s an asset to the region for economic development. I don’t think the region would be as well-developed as it is now without the Northwest Campus. To continue to develop, we need to continue to grow the campus to be able to meet the needs of the region.”

The celebration will be held Oct. 18, 2 p.m., in the Student Life Center on the second floor of Northwest Campus, 7600 N. Shannon Road. Among the guests expected to attend are a number of the founding faculty, staff and administrators, including founding President Angela Zerdavis, as well as Dr. Sylvia Lee, president of Northwest Campus from 2006-2009 and a current member of the Pima Community College District Board of Governors.

The campus has had six presidents since it opened:

  • Dr. Angela Zerdavis (Acting), 2001-2004
  • Dr. Anne Marie McCartan, 2004-2006
  • Dr. Sylvia Lee, 2006-2009
  • Jana Kooi, 2009-2011
  • Dr. Alex Kajstura, 2011-2013
  • Dr. Darla Zirbes (Acting), 2013-present

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.