Tucson Symphony Orchestra

On Saturday December 22, the Southern Arizona Symphony Orchestra will

perform a special program not on the regular schedule. SASO will perform

the selections to be performed on their second tour to China departing on

December 26. This program will be performed at the Desert View Performing Arts Auditorium in Saddlebrooke at 7:30 PM. Tickets are available at the door and at the SaddleBrooke II ticket desk.


Looking to SASO's continuing season of three concerts, each featuring

outstanding soloists . All programs are performed on Saturday nights at 7:30

in SaddleBrooke at the Desert View Performing Arts Auditorium and on Sundays in Oro Valley at St. Andrews Presbyterian Church at 3:00 PM.


Six soloists will be featured in the first program of 2013 on February 23 in SaddleBrooke and February 24 in Oro Valley. Composer Richard White is like a composer in residence as he also plays viola in SASO. The opening selection will be White's  If Life Were As It Seems from his opera Rappaccini's Daughter and features soprano Christi Amonson and a female quartet.

Miss Amonson will also join the orchestra in a performance of Gustav Mahler's Symphony No. 4 in G major. Hong-Mei Xiao will perform Paul Hindemith's

Concerto for Viola, Der Schwanendreher.


Variety will mark the fourth pair of concerts. Wagner's Tannhauser Overture

opens the program followed by Tatoo Notes James Strauss by Roger Davis and Howard Hanson's Serenade both featuring flute soloist James Strauss.

Tucson composer Bruce Stoller's Open Spaces Suite and God Created Great Whales by Hovhaness, and a performance of a solo piece by the Youth Concerto Competition completes the concert on April 6 at SaddleBrooke and April 7 in Oro Valley.


The season's final pair of concerts will be May 18 in SaddleBrooke and

May 19 in Oro Valley. As with all this seasons programs, another Tucson

composer is featured with Landscapes by Pete Fine. Following this will be

the delightful Violin Concerto No. 3 in B minor by Saint-Saens and the big and romantic Symphony No. 2 in E minor of Rachmaninoff. For orchestra and

ticket information, go to www.sasomusic.org

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.