14 file for OV council election - Tucson Local Media: Import

14 file for OV council election

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, January 2, 2004 12:00 am

Fourteen candidates are seeking to be sworn in on what will be a new seven-member Oro Valley Town Council at its first meeting in June 2004.

All 14 filed petitions with the Oro Valley clerk's office for the town's mail-in primary March 9. The filing deadline was Dec. 10.

Five candidates are seeking to fill two open 2-year terms, including incumbent council members Dick Johnson and Bart Rochman and newcomers Kenneth "KC" Carter, Steve Conrad and Conny Culver.

Nine candidates are vying for three available 4-year terms. They are: Lyra Done, Don Cox, Helen Dankwerth, Richard Feinberg, Mark Ellis, Al Kunisch, Barry Gillaspie, Jon Robson and Terry Parish.

Mayor Paul Loomis and Councilmember Paul Abbott each have two years remaining in their terms.

"Ballots will go out 33 days prior to March 9 primary election," said Town Clerk Kathi Cuvelier.

"So the first day that early voting begins is Feb. 5." Ballots must be mailed or delivered to the Pima County Recorders Office by 7 p.m. on March 9. Voters can also drop ballots off at Oro Valley Town Hall.

The nonpartisan March 9 primary and general election on May 18 are single-issue municipal elections, required to take place in the spring of even numbered years.

In the primary, a candidate who receives 50 percent plus 1 of votes cast wins his or her seat without having to go the general election. "Mayor Loomis was reelected at the primary in March by 50 percent vote two years ago," she said.

If none of the candidates gets a majority, the 10 highest vote getters move on to the May election. "State law says you can have twice the candidates for the number of seats open," she explained. The largest number of candidates in past town primaries was nine, vying for three open council seats.

All candidates gathered a minimum 193 petition signatures to get on the March ballot.

Six candidates - Feinberg, Ellis, Gillaspie, Robson, Culver, and Parish - filed threshold exemption statements, meaning that they don't intend to spend more than $500 on their campaigns, said the town clerk. By law, candidates who spend more than that must form a political committee and file campaign finance reports, including contributions and expenditures.

© 2017 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

PGA Tour Superstore Grand Opening

More Featured Videos

Follow us on Facebook