Nov. 3, 2004 - Dan Post will serve a seventh term on the Marana Unified School District Governing Board in a surprising result in a close election Nov. 2. He will be joined by two newcomers, Pat Teager and Maribel Lopez.

Post and fellow incumbents Jan Mitich and Debbie Schmich had been targeted by a group called Take Back Our School District which formed in July after the board forced the resignation of popular superintendent Rick Lesko. The group sought to oust all three incumbents with Post being the board member the group most wanted to defeat. Mitich, the board president, has served on the board for 16 years and Schmich for eight. Both said in October they believed the decision to seek Lesko's resignation was the right one, even if it meant defeat in the election.

Post, Teager and Lopez will join Bill Kuhn, who was elected to a third term in 2002. The fifth board seat was decided in a write-in election Tuesday, however write-in ballots will not be tabulated until next week, if not later, said Brad Nelson, the Pima County elections division administrator. Results were unofficial with 94 percent of precincts reporting.



Mel Kaster 12.8%

Maribel Lopez 15.8%

Janice Mitich 14.7%

Dan Post 18.9%

Debbie Schmich 14.8%

Pat Teager 20.8%


Stephen Brady 20.3%

Mark Ellis 19.5%

Sharon Hanson 21.9%

Dennis Murphy 21.3%

Werner Wolff 16.9%


Yes 74%

No 26%

Note: Votes for the MUSD write-in candidate position will not be tallied for at least one week.


Northwest Fire District residents Nov. 2 easily approved by a four-to-one margin borrowing $37 million to build new fire stations, renovate or expand old ones and buy or replace equipment.

In other county and local races, Golder Ranch Fire District voters selected incumbent Dennis Murphy and newcomers Sharon Hanson and Stephen Brady as governing board members. Not elected were Oro Valley residents Werner Wolff and Mark Ellis.

In a close election, Democrat Bill Staples edged Republican Bill Heusiler for County Assessor. Staples works in the Assessor's office and had the endorsement of current assessor Rick Lyons, who chose not to run for re-election.

In another closely-watched county race, Sheriff Clarence Dupnik won a fifth term, beating former Pima County deputy Roland Youngling. Youngling had the endorsement of all of the county's police officer unions and county deputy union members gave Dupnik a vote of No Confidence in October.

Most other county races were uncontested or incumbents faced only minor party challenges. Results were unofficial.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.