Primary races have been decided - General Election up next - Tucson Local Media: Election

Primary races have been decided - General Election up next

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, September 3, 2014 4:00 am

Arizona race for governor

Gov. Jan Brewer is in her final term in office. She will be replaced soon, and after the large field of GOP candidates was settled in the Aug. 26 primary, the two candidates fighting for the state’s top seat are Republican Doug Ducey and Democrat Fred Duval.

While Ducey beat out a field of six candidates, garnering 177,460 votes, according to the unofficial results. Coming in second place was Scott Smith and Christine Jones in third.

Other state races

Attorney General Tom Horne will be out of office soon, losing his re-election bid to GOP primary opponent  Mark Brnovich. According to the unofficial results, Brnovich finished the race with 247,916 compared to Horne’s 215,104 votes.

Brnovich will face Democrat Felecia Rotellini in November’s general election

There will be a lot of new seats in the state’s administration come November, as Secretary State Ken Bennett opted to run in the Republican governor’s race over running for re-election. Now, Republican Michele Reagan will face Democrat Terry Goddard in the primary.

There will also be a new superintendent of public instruction with GOP incumbent John Huppenthal losing to challenger Diane Douglas who will face Democrat David Garcia in November.

Congressional races

In what is likely one of the most-watched races in the nation, Congressional District 2 was decided early for GOP candidate Martha McSally who easily cruised past two Republican opponents. McSally will face incumbent Democrat Ron Barber.

While Democrat incumbent Ann Kirkpatrick is set to run for re-election, the Congressional District 1 race was neck-and-neck between GOP candidates Andy Tobin and Gary Kiene. Tobin held the lead with challenger Adam Kwasman conceding days after the race.

Local races

In local races, Oro Valley mayor Satish Hiremath and council member incumbents Joe Hornat, Mary Snider and Lou Waters were re-elected to new terms. Hiremath beat out challenger Pat Straney, while Don Bristow lost his council bid.

© 2016 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

PGA Tour Superstore Grand Opening

More Featured Videos

Follow us on Facebook