Prime Time Review: ‘Orange is the New Black’ released to Netflix - Tucson Local Media: Prime Time Review

Prime Time Review: ‘Orange is the New Black’ released to Netflix

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, June 18, 2014 4:00 am

Jenji Kohan’s critically-acclaimed Netflix series, “Orange is the New Black” is back for its second season. Set in a woman’s correctional facility, the high-brow humor, witty literary references, and evolving characters all bring an interesting twist to the prison television drama. Even better news for fans of the show, all 13 episodes of the second season have been released at one time, completely affirming the instant gratification, binge-viewing culture of which many of us are a part.

The show is based on a true story and a book by Piper Kerman called “Orange Is the New Black”: My Year in a Women’s Prison. Kerman also lends her first name to the shows main character, Piper Chapman.

The first season of the show was centered on Piper Chapman, played by Taylor Schilling, as she goes from being an engaged, well-to do New Yorker to a hardened inmate in the American justice system. Chapman turns herself in to authorities for a crime she committed 10 years prior with her at-the-time girlfriend, Alex, played by Laura Prepon of “That 70’s Show” fame. The two ex-lovers find themselves reunited after a decade, now amongst a host of comical and sometimes crazy inmates. Despite being a show centered on the lives of convicted criminals, the lines of black and white often blur as the characters and their motives develop throughout the course of the show.

The second season of the show reintroduces a Piper Chapman we have not seen before. No longer the scared woman thrown into the prison system, Chapman is hardened by her experiences and returning with a new, edgier perspective. With 13 more episodes, the spotlight has turned slightly away from Piper Chapman and toward the numerous women and guards that create such a brilliant show. As the numerous faces of the prison change and mature, the stories of the women mature with them. The development of the fantastic cast goes so far as to include an episode without the show’s main character involved.

The backgrounds of the supporting characters are told almost entirely through flashbacks of times before prison walls, snippets into the varied and colorful lives that this cast of characters used to live. From time spent in affluent families to committing credit card fraud, the show holds nothing back when it comes to creating a realistic group of prisoners. New introductions into the prison’s social atmosphere will bring up drama for returning characters as old faces disappear into the correctional system.

With the entirety of the goings-on inside of the prison walls, the outside world does sometimes seem a little boring in comparison. That may be the point, but the scenes of the show involving Piper’s fiancé Larry, played by Jason Biggs, seem a little too boring. While his struggles seem uninteresting in comparison, it is the contrast between the inside and outside worlds that was at one point the basis for the show.  Long gone are the days of Larry worrying about Piper and her time in prison, Now Piper struggles to make her own place in a cut-throat and sometimes confusing prison world.

Overall, what is most impressive about the second season of the show is its ability to create humility and humanity in a group of characters who share some violent and dangerous backgrounds.  Characters begin to develop beyond their stereotypes, and in many ways this is a good thing. With characters continuing to just fulfill archetypal roles a show can become stale and boring quite quickly, losing the interest that a new show carries with it. Jenji Kohan and the crew behind “Orange is the New Black” are continuing to prove that there is some real fight in the online media streaming industry. With Banners for the show streaming across major websites throughout the internet, the hype is out for the new season, and it’s definitely worth a watch.

© 2016 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Monday 05/02/2016

LeBron James’ ‘Space Jam’ may actually be happening

Monday 04/18/2016

Olympic gold medalist & UFC fighter returns to where his MMA career began

Saturday 04/16/2016

Mixed martial arts live in Tucson

Thursday 04/14/2016

UPDATE: AMC Entertainment CEO: texting-friendly movie theaters a possibility

Wednesday 03/30/2016

UFC Fighter calls cop 'pig' and 'f-ing liar' during traffic stop

Friday 03/25/2016

New clip of "The Jungle Book" offers glimpse of Shere Khan

Thursday 03/17/2016

Indiana Jones and the never-ending well of money

Friday 03/04/2016

'Star Wars: The Force Awakens' DVD, Blu-Ray and digital release announced

Monday 02/29/2016

‘Rick and Morty’ voice actors hard at work on season 3

Sunday 02/28/2016

The count rides again

Monday 02/22/2016

'Planet Earth II' coming later this year

Wednesday 02/17/2016

Aesop Rock announces “The Impossible Kid,” and releases first single. Prime Time Review: The “Youth” of Old Age

Tuesday 02/02/2016

Schwarzenegger still eying third “Conan the Barbarian” movie “Mojave” offers bloodshed and boredom

Wednesday 12/30/2015

eSports team TSM partnering with Red Bull to develop professional gamers

Wednesday 12/16/2015

Prime Time Review: Elvis Costello Solo ‘Detour’ shows announced for Arizona

Friday 11/27/2015

Wu-Tang Clan sells mystery album for millions

Wednesday 10/28/2015

“Crimson Peak” delivers creative creeps

Monday 10/05/2015

Princess Leia bikini sold at auction for nearly $100,000

Monday 09/28/2015

"Fast and Furious” franchise will end with a trilogy, according to Vin Diesel

Friday 09/18/2015

“X-Men” director Bryan Singer is heading 20,000 leagues under the sea in new project

Monday 08/17/2015

Zach Galifianakis set to join cast of "Lego Batman" — as the Joker

Wednesday 08/12/2015

‘Vacation’ lacks ‘National Lampoon’ fun

Wednesday 06/17/2015

Netflix releases new season of ‘Orange is the New Black’ a day early for fans

Tuesday 06/09/2015

Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Anticipations

Wednesday 01/21/2015

Prime Time Review: CBS Announces Premier of Stephen Colbert’s The Late Show Sept. 8

Wednesday 12/24/2014

Christmas day film releases bring options for everyone

Wednesday 12/17/2014

The Loft Insider: “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”

Tuesday 12/16/2014

Gamer's Scoop - Blizzard donates World of Warcraft pet sales to Ebola Relief

Wednesday 12/03/2014

Tucson Symphony Orchestra to perform Disney classic Burt Reynolds hoping for deliverance from financial woes

Wednesday 11/12/2014

‘Interstellar’ solidifies director’s legacy

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Suge Knight and Katt Williams arrested for robbery in Beverly Hills

Wednesday 10/29/2014

Netflix offers hidden Halloween treats

Wednesday 10/22/2014

Prime Time Review: Disney may be planning three Obi-Wan Star Wars movies

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Tucson crawling with Halloween events

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Prime Time Review: University of Arizona and Fox Theatre team up for new downtown lecture series

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Prime Time Review: NCIS: New Orleans coming to your TV soon

Wednesday 08/27/2014

Prime Time Review: Two new ‘Jungle Book’ movies hitting theaters soon

Wednesday 08/20/2014

Prime Time Review: Waves of “Blackfish” documentary start to hit SeaWorld

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Will Arnett announces more ‘Arrested Development’

Wednesday 08/06/2014

Prime Time Review: Indie rock princess poised to hit mainstream

Wednesday 07/30/2014

Prime Time Review: Two upcoming shows hip-hop heads should not miss

Wednesday 07/23/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Goosebumps’ film coming next summer

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Tabloid favorite Lindsay Lohan sues Rockstar over videogame character

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Primetime Review: Marvel continues to build with “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Prime Time Review: North Korea threatens war over movie

Wednesday 06/25/2014

Prime Time Review: Tucsonan selected for CBS Reality TV

Wednesday 06/18/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Orange is the New Black’ released to Netflix
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

What do you think should happen with Som and Krystin Lisaius' child?

Som and Krystin Lisaius, two members of Tucson’s local media scene, have found themselves in a deeply troubling situation after taking their 4-month-old daughter to a local hospital, where cocaine was found the child’s system.

Total Votes: 114

Loading…
Loading…