Prime Time Review: Tabloid favorite Lindsay Lohan sues Rockstar over videogame character - Tucson Local Media: Prime Time Review

Prime Time Review: Tabloid favorite Lindsay Lohan sues Rockstar over videogame character

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, July 16, 2014 4:00 am

Lindsay Lohan is heading back to the courtroom soon. However, this time it is she who is filing the lawsuit. The tabloid star is launching a lawsuit against Rockstar Games because she believes her likeness was utilized for one of Grand Theft Auto V’s characters without her permission.

The lawsuit states that the character, Lacey Jonas, is an unequivocal reference to Ms. Lohan. The suit goes so far as to state that Lohan’s voice and style were utilized to create the character, all without her permission. Citing privacy laws, the actress is claiming unspecified damages from not only Rockstar Games, but also Take Two Interactive.

The character in question plays a minor role in the blockbuster game. Jonas is encountered in an alleyway in “Vinewood”, a section of the large open-world game. Jonas is hiding from paparazzi and asks the player to get her home without the paparazzi knowing. During the course of the ride home, the in-game actress admits to the player that the stresses of her life and fame have caused her to become anorexic.

On the surface level, this seems like nothing more than a publicity stunt for Lindsay Lohan, hoping to claw her way into the spotlight. But does this suit have any ground to stand on?

While Lohan’s accusations of using her voice, image, and clothing from her fashion line may seem a little far-fetched, the inclusion of Chateau Marmont Hotel in West Hollywood, where the actress once lived, is being used as evidence of image rights violation.

Reports of the lawsuit originally surfaced through TMZ last December but had gone quiet until now. While there is no specified payout in the lawsuit, lawyers have stated that there would be “serious money” involved.

Lohan has picked quiet a successful game to levy a lawsuit against. Grand Theft Auto V was able to eclipse an impressive $1 billion in sales in less than 72 hours and has continued to maintain a strong fan base since. The game is primed to make even more money soon as it is slated to be released for the Playstation 4, Xbox One, and PC this coming fall. Will Lohan’s lawsuit hold any water against the gaming giant?

© 2016 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Monday 05/02/2016

LeBron James’ ‘Space Jam’ may actually be happening

Monday 04/18/2016

Olympic gold medalist & UFC fighter returns to where his MMA career began

Saturday 04/16/2016

Mixed martial arts live in Tucson

Thursday 04/14/2016

UPDATE: AMC Entertainment CEO: texting-friendly movie theaters a possibility

Wednesday 03/30/2016

UFC Fighter calls cop 'pig' and 'f-ing liar' during traffic stop

Friday 03/25/2016

New clip of "The Jungle Book" offers glimpse of Shere Khan

Thursday 03/17/2016

Indiana Jones and the never-ending well of money

Friday 03/04/2016

'Star Wars: The Force Awakens' DVD, Blu-Ray and digital release announced

Monday 02/29/2016

‘Rick and Morty’ voice actors hard at work on season 3

Sunday 02/28/2016

The count rides again

Monday 02/22/2016

'Planet Earth II' coming later this year

Wednesday 02/17/2016

Aesop Rock announces “The Impossible Kid,” and releases first single. Prime Time Review: The “Youth” of Old Age

Tuesday 02/02/2016

Schwarzenegger still eying third “Conan the Barbarian” movie “Mojave” offers bloodshed and boredom

Wednesday 12/30/2015

eSports team TSM partnering with Red Bull to develop professional gamers

Wednesday 12/16/2015

Prime Time Review: Elvis Costello Solo ‘Detour’ shows announced for Arizona

Friday 11/27/2015

Wu-Tang Clan sells mystery album for millions

Wednesday 10/28/2015

“Crimson Peak” delivers creative creeps

Monday 10/05/2015

Princess Leia bikini sold at auction for nearly $100,000

Monday 09/28/2015

"Fast and Furious” franchise will end with a trilogy, according to Vin Diesel

Friday 09/18/2015

“X-Men” director Bryan Singer is heading 20,000 leagues under the sea in new project

Monday 08/17/2015

Zach Galifianakis set to join cast of "Lego Batman" — as the Joker

Wednesday 08/12/2015

‘Vacation’ lacks ‘National Lampoon’ fun

Wednesday 06/17/2015

Netflix releases new season of ‘Orange is the New Black’ a day early for fans

Tuesday 06/09/2015

Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Anticipations

Wednesday 01/21/2015

Prime Time Review: CBS Announces Premier of Stephen Colbert’s The Late Show Sept. 8

Wednesday 12/24/2014

Christmas day film releases bring options for everyone

Wednesday 12/17/2014

The Loft Insider: “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”

Tuesday 12/16/2014

Gamer's Scoop - Blizzard donates World of Warcraft pet sales to Ebola Relief

Wednesday 12/03/2014

Tucson Symphony Orchestra to perform Disney classic Burt Reynolds hoping for deliverance from financial woes

Wednesday 11/12/2014

‘Interstellar’ solidifies director’s legacy

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Suge Knight and Katt Williams arrested for robbery in Beverly Hills

Wednesday 10/29/2014

Netflix offers hidden Halloween treats

Wednesday 10/22/2014

Prime Time Review: Disney may be planning three Obi-Wan Star Wars movies

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Tucson crawling with Halloween events

Wednesday 10/01/2014

Prime Time Review: University of Arizona and Fox Theatre team up for new downtown lecture series

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Prime Time Review: NCIS: New Orleans coming to your TV soon

Wednesday 08/27/2014

Prime Time Review: Two new ‘Jungle Book’ movies hitting theaters soon

Wednesday 08/20/2014

Prime Time Review: Waves of “Blackfish” documentary start to hit SeaWorld

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Will Arnett announces more ‘Arrested Development’

Wednesday 08/06/2014

Prime Time Review: Indie rock princess poised to hit mainstream

Wednesday 07/30/2014

Prime Time Review: Two upcoming shows hip-hop heads should not miss

Wednesday 07/23/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Goosebumps’ film coming next summer

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Tabloid favorite Lindsay Lohan sues Rockstar over videogame character

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Primetime Review: Marvel continues to build with “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Prime Time Review: North Korea threatens war over movie

Wednesday 06/25/2014

Prime Time Review: Tucsonan selected for CBS Reality TV

Wednesday 06/18/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Orange is the New Black’ released to Netflix
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

What do you think should happen with Som and Krystin Lisaius' child?

Som and Krystin Lisaius, two members of Tucson’s local media scene, have found themselves in a deeply troubling situation after taking their 4-month-old daughter to a local hospital, where cocaine was found the child’s system.

Total Votes: 118

Loading…
Loading…