Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems - Tucson Local Media: Pet News

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, April 24, 2014 9:31 am

From inappropriate marking to excessive meowing to scratching, a misbehaving cat can cause disruption to your home. Unfortunately, behavior problems are the number one reason for pet euthanasia, resulting in the death of approximately 15 million pets annually, according to the American Veterinary Medical Association.

But not all these bad behaviors are your pet’s “fault.” Stress, caused by a variety of factors, can contribute to these issues. After visiting a veterinarian to rule out any physical causes for your feline’s follies, take steps to encourage good behavior and decrease stress in your cat’s life.

“You don’t need to resort to drastic measures to stop a cat’s behavioral issues,” says Caryn Stichler, vice president of marketing for Sergeant`s Pet Care Products. “There are a number of ways to create a calm, stress-free environment for your pet including using pheromone-based products.”

If your cat’s stress is causing you stress, here are a few steps you can take to change your pet’s behavior:

• Litter box: Is your kitty’s use of his litter box unreliable? Make sure you’re keeping it clean and changing the litter on a regular basis. 

Don’t relocate the box. Animals, like people, form habits and can be stressed out by change.

• Noise: If you’re the host with the most, be mindful of the consequences. Loud noises and a room full of strangers can add stress to your pet’s life.

Take steps to limit the burden by never blasting music and ensuring your pet has access to water, a litter box and food in the less trafficked areas of your home.

• Be proactive: More than two million cat owners have used a calming product on their pet. If your pet’s behavioral problems are triggered by travel, thunderstorms, fireworks or new social situations, consider a collar for your cat that’s been scientifically proven to reduce or eliminate such behaviors. For example, Sergeant’s Vetscription Calming Collar for Cats mimics the pheromone that the mother cat produces to calm and reassure and calm her kittens. Pheromones are chemical substances used for communication between members of a species.

Good for all ages and breeds, the pheromone calming collar helps cats feel safe and secure. More information can be found at www.sergeants.com.

• Comfortable space: Make sure your cat’s living space is not just a place to survive, but a place to thrive. Cats love to observe the world around them, so make sure your kitty has access to windows. Be sure to provide your cat with plenty of toys and spend some quality time together each day as mental and physical stimulation are important

Remember, behavioral problems aren’t seasonal -- they affect pets year round. Take steps to reduce stress in your pet’s life and utilize a calming collar to keep your cat happy and comfortable.

© 2016 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Monday 12/14/2015

Zoey Needs a Home

Tuesday 12/08/2015

Charlie Needs a Home

Monday 11/30/2015

Tiger Needs a Home

Monday 10/05/2015

Creed Needs a Home

Tuesday 09/08/2015

PetSmart partners with PACC for $20 adoptions

Monday 08/31/2015

Monte Needs a Home

Monday 08/24/2015

Ruby Needs a Home

Friday 08/21/2015

Cat lost in Northwest Tucson

Monday 08/10/2015

Momma, Big Boy and Gri Gri need a home Humane Society to be awarded $5k thanks to community poll

Tuesday 08/04/2015

Animal shelter learns what residents hope to see

Tuesday 07/28/2015

Pima Animal Care Center hosting mass spay/neuter clinic with Best Friends Animal Society

Monday 07/27/2015

Leo Needs a Home

Tuesday 07/21/2015

Public has a chance to give input on PACC

Monday 07/20/2015

Kayla needs a home

Monday 12/15/2014

Pet News - Woman with “passion” for pets leaves legacy for HSSA

Wednesday 12/10/2014

Pet News - Christmas Day Dog Walk

Monday 12/08/2014

Pet News - HSSA and Subaru Sharing the Love for pets

Wednesday 11/26/2014

Annual Thanksgiving Dog-Walking

Thursday 11/20/2014

Tucson Pet Expo to offer rabies shots for $10

Friday 11/14/2014

$10 Adoptions this Friday through Sunday to Celebrate National Adoption Weekend

Thursday 11/06/2014

Pet News - HSSA hosts two mobile vaccination clinics for dogs

Monday 11/03/2014

Pet News - No-kill cat shelter needs immediate funding

Thursday 10/23/2014

Pet News - No scaredy-cats this Halloween

Monday 10/20/2014

Pet News - Teddy’s Broken Jaw and Whole Heart

Thursday 10/16/2014

Pet DoctoRX Joins Dogtoberfest, Offering Complimentary Spay or Neuter

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Pet News - PAWSH Park Place celebrates 5 year anniversary

Monday 10/13/2014

Pet News - Vanna’s resilience finds her a forever home

Thursday 10/09/2014

HSSA’s Mike Duffey appointed to National Council

Tuesday 10/07/2014

Pet News - HSSA jumps into the fall season

Thursday 09/25/2014

Pet News - Mosey For Mutts

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

What do you think should happen with Som and Krystin Lisaius' child?

Som and Krystin Lisaius, two members of Tucson’s local media scene, have found themselves in a deeply troubling situation after taking their 4-month-old daughter to a local hospital, where cocaine was found the child’s system.

Total Votes: 191

Loading…
Loading…