Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes - Tucson Local Media: Pet News

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, August 11, 2014 3:36 pm

Spay or neuter your pit bull mix for just $20 during August at the Humane Society of Southern Arizona.

As part of the "Primp your Pit" event, the HSSA will spay and neuter 200 pit bull mixes at this special rate, which applies to all residents of Southern Arizona. Prevention is one of the HSSA's pillars, and we are proud to be part of this effort.

Sadly, myths, misunderstandings and media contribute to high shelter intake and low adoption rates of pit bull-type dogs of all ages. As a local and independent nonprofit, the Humane Society of Southern Arizona is doing its part in helping solve overpopulation by participating in PetSmart Charities "Primp Your Pit" August spay/neuter campaign.

To reduce shelter numbers, PetSmart Charities is providing more than $388,000 in grant funding to 57 animal welfare organizations across the nation so they can sterilize thousands of pit bull-type dogs during the August campaign.

"No one wants to see homeless pets live their lives in a shelter - it's heartbreaking but continues to happen. Overpopulation is a problem and as a community we must raise the bar and act responsibly by spaying and neutering. Spaying and neutering is the most effective thing owners can do to prevent unwanted litters from being born that will ultimately end up in local shelters," says Samantha Esquivel, Public Relations Lead.

The American Veterinary Medical Association endorses spaying and neutering puppies as young as 8 to 10 weeks old. Research shows that the procedure may improve the behavior and health of the pet, including reducing the risk of certain reproductive cancers and infections.

Pit bull parents who wish to take advantage of this special offer must mention the "Primp Your Pit" promotion when they schedule their appointments. The promotion is based on availability and spaces are limited.

Please visit hssaz.org or call 520-881-0321 for more information or to schedule an appointment.

© 2016 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Monday 12/14/2015

Zoey Needs a Home

Tuesday 12/08/2015

Charlie Needs a Home

Monday 11/30/2015

Tiger Needs a Home

Monday 10/05/2015

Creed Needs a Home

Tuesday 09/08/2015

PetSmart partners with PACC for $20 adoptions

Monday 08/31/2015

Monte Needs a Home

Monday 08/24/2015

Ruby Needs a Home

Friday 08/21/2015

Cat lost in Northwest Tucson

Monday 08/10/2015

Momma, Big Boy and Gri Gri need a home Humane Society to be awarded $5k thanks to community poll

Tuesday 08/04/2015

Animal shelter learns what residents hope to see

Tuesday 07/28/2015

Pima Animal Care Center hosting mass spay/neuter clinic with Best Friends Animal Society

Monday 07/27/2015

Leo Needs a Home

Tuesday 07/21/2015

Public has a chance to give input on PACC

Monday 07/20/2015

Kayla needs a home

Monday 12/15/2014

Pet News - Woman with “passion” for pets leaves legacy for HSSA

Wednesday 12/10/2014

Pet News - Christmas Day Dog Walk

Monday 12/08/2014

Pet News - HSSA and Subaru Sharing the Love for pets

Wednesday 11/26/2014

Annual Thanksgiving Dog-Walking

Thursday 11/20/2014

Tucson Pet Expo to offer rabies shots for $10

Friday 11/14/2014

$10 Adoptions this Friday through Sunday to Celebrate National Adoption Weekend

Thursday 11/06/2014

Pet News - HSSA hosts two mobile vaccination clinics for dogs

Monday 11/03/2014

Pet News - No-kill cat shelter needs immediate funding

Thursday 10/23/2014

Pet News - No scaredy-cats this Halloween

Monday 10/20/2014

Pet News - Teddy’s Broken Jaw and Whole Heart

Thursday 10/16/2014

Pet DoctoRX Joins Dogtoberfest, Offering Complimentary Spay or Neuter

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Pet News - PAWSH Park Place celebrates 5 year anniversary

Monday 10/13/2014

Pet News - Vanna’s resilience finds her a forever home

Thursday 10/09/2014

HSSA’s Mike Duffey appointed to National Council

Tuesday 10/07/2014

Pet News - HSSA jumps into the fall season

Thursday 09/25/2014

Pet News - Mosey For Mutts

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

What do you think should happen with Som and Krystin Lisaius' child?

Som and Krystin Lisaius, two members of Tucson’s local media scene, have found themselves in a deeply troubling situation after taking their 4-month-old daughter to a local hospital, where cocaine was found the child’s system.

Total Votes: 128

Loading…
Loading…