Pet News - Meet the new shelter veterinarian at Pima Animal Care Center - Tucson Local Media: Pet News

Pet News - Meet the new shelter veterinarian at Pima Animal Care Center

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, February 12, 2014 11:44 am

Pima Animal Care Center is pleased to introduce Dr. Jennifer Wilcox, who will bring creativity and passion to the challenging position of shelter veterinarian as we are expanding efforts to save the savable.

Her experience includes serving as the responsible veterinarian for the Humane Society of Southern Arizona, helping increase its live release rate to over 90 percent, as it continues to set the standard for shelter medicine in Southern Arizona.  

We caught up with her for five questions.

This is the first time Pima Animal Care Center has had a designated shelter veterinarian. What was intriguing to you about the position? The volume of animals that need veterinary care at PACC is enormous, I was very excited to see Pima County invest in more veterinary medical staff positions, including vet technicians. 

Do you have any general direction about your philosophy for animal care that you can share with us? Shelter medicine is a new and ever-changing field. Shelter vets think in terms of "population medicine" in order to minimize disease outbreaks and reduce pet overpopulation through spay/neuter. However, I am personally driven to make sure no homeless animal suffers while I have the capacity to provide them care. This latter point is costly and very time-consuming; luckily, I have lots of energy!

What are some of the first steps you’ll take as you become oriented in your new role? Though the shelter needs some remodeling to accommodate more clinical services, I will start treating animals Day One for pain, infection, and anxiety as needed. In the near future, we will add more vaccines and anti-parasite treatments as animals enter the facility to reduce the spread of disease. Shelter Manager Jose Ocaño and I are planning lots of training so staff can better identify animals that need vet care, reduce the spread of infectious disease, and better educate the public on animal welfare.

                                                 

You work with animals all day at work. Do you have any at home? My husband, kids, and I care for 4 dogs, 3 cats, a bearded dragon, and 4 "pet" chickens. We also take on lots of foster animals (kitten season is nearly here!) 

What is your ultimate goal? We need to persuade a larger portion of our community to come adopt their next companion rather than buying one from Craigslist or a pet store. Toward that end, I will work hard to keep our homeless animals healthy and happy until they find their forever home. 

© 2016 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Monday 12/14/2015

Zoey Needs a Home

Tuesday 12/08/2015

Charlie Needs a Home

Monday 11/30/2015

Tiger Needs a Home

Monday 10/05/2015

Creed Needs a Home

Tuesday 09/08/2015

PetSmart partners with PACC for $20 adoptions

Monday 08/31/2015

Monte Needs a Home

Monday 08/24/2015

Ruby Needs a Home

Friday 08/21/2015

Cat lost in Northwest Tucson

Monday 08/10/2015

Momma, Big Boy and Gri Gri need a home Humane Society to be awarded $5k thanks to community poll

Tuesday 08/04/2015

Animal shelter learns what residents hope to see

Tuesday 07/28/2015

Pima Animal Care Center hosting mass spay/neuter clinic with Best Friends Animal Society

Monday 07/27/2015

Leo Needs a Home

Tuesday 07/21/2015

Public has a chance to give input on PACC

Monday 07/20/2015

Kayla needs a home

Monday 12/15/2014

Pet News - Woman with “passion” for pets leaves legacy for HSSA

Wednesday 12/10/2014

Pet News - Christmas Day Dog Walk

Monday 12/08/2014

Pet News - HSSA and Subaru Sharing the Love for pets

Wednesday 11/26/2014

Annual Thanksgiving Dog-Walking

Thursday 11/20/2014

Tucson Pet Expo to offer rabies shots for $10

Friday 11/14/2014

$10 Adoptions this Friday through Sunday to Celebrate National Adoption Weekend

Thursday 11/06/2014

Pet News - HSSA hosts two mobile vaccination clinics for dogs

Monday 11/03/2014

Pet News - No-kill cat shelter needs immediate funding

Thursday 10/23/2014

Pet News - No scaredy-cats this Halloween

Monday 10/20/2014

Pet News - Teddy’s Broken Jaw and Whole Heart

Thursday 10/16/2014

Pet DoctoRX Joins Dogtoberfest, Offering Complimentary Spay or Neuter

Wednesday 10/15/2014

Pet News - PAWSH Park Place celebrates 5 year anniversary

Monday 10/13/2014

Pet News - Vanna’s resilience finds her a forever home

Thursday 10/09/2014

HSSA’s Mike Duffey appointed to National Council

Tuesday 10/07/2014

Pet News - HSSA jumps into the fall season

Thursday 09/25/2014

Pet News - Mosey For Mutts

Wednesday 09/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Pet News - Protect animals from weather

Monday 09/15/2014

Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter to celebrate 49th birthday party

Thursday 09/11/2014

$15 HSSA adoptions for PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Monday 09/08/2014

HSSA’s fourth mobile clinic for dogs offers more free DAPP vaccinations

Wednesday 09/03/2014

Cats 4 PACC event features UA's Greg Byrne, Wilbur and Wilma

Friday 08/29/2014

Pima Animal Care is staying up late for a Cat's Pajamas Adoption

Thursday 08/21/2014

Pet News - Canine Carnival to raise funds

Tuesday 08/19/2014

Pet News - Vote for PACC on Facebook in the final weeks of the ASPCA Rachael Ray 100K Challenge

Friday 08/15/2014

HSSA offers free spay/neuter for owned dogs in 85705

Thursday 08/14/2014

Pet News - Speak! for Animals Telethon

Wednesday 08/13/2014

Pet News - Supervisors approve “No-Kill” community cat partnership

Monday 08/11/2014

Pet News “Primp Your Pit” $20 spay/neuter for pit bull mixes Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

What do you think should happen with Som and Krystin Lisaius' child?

Som and Krystin Lisaius, two members of Tucson’s local media scene, have found themselves in a deeply troubling situation after taking their 4-month-old daughter to a local hospital, where cocaine was found the child’s system.

Total Votes: 121

Loading…
Loading…