Gamer's Scoop - South Park: The Stick of Truth – Filthy, but true to the show - Tucson Local Media: Gamer's Scoop

Gamer's Scoop - South Park: The Stick of Truth – Filthy, but true to the show

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, March 19, 2014 4:00 am

Video games based on television shows tend to have a pretty low expectations, anticipation founded on hordes of poor video game adaptations of TV programs. Luckily, South Park: The Stick of Truth is a gem of a game in a field of absolute failed potential.

After it went gold last month, fans were quite excited to finally get their hands on the game that had faced delay after delay. Originally in the hands of the now closed THQ Studios and the most exciting game in their future line-up, Trey Parker and Matt Stone went through an arduous process of finding a new home for their game.

This is not South Park’s first venture into video games. The show has had previous titles across multiple systems for the better part of two decades. Showing that they also understand the gaming community, the show did a spoof on the ever popular World of Warcraft. The “Make Love, Not Warcraft” episode was quickly swept up as a fan favorite. The show has used these fantasy inspired characters in other episodes more recently, poking fun at J.R.R. Martin and Black Friday.

Obsidian Studios had their work cut out for them in redrafting and finishing this game. The South Park library of characters is massive, and the amount of jokes that come up throughout the show over its nearly 20 year run could fill hundreds of hours of game-time. The drawback to the game sadly is it’s relatively short length for an RPG (role playing game).

The game is built as a Japanese Role Playing Game, designed around a turn based fighting system in which each side of the battle takes turns attacking, healing, and defending. Obsidian did what they do best and made a fantastic RPG. Holding true to nearly every RPG trope and standard, the game itself seems to be making fun of its own genre. The steady game play and the raucous hilarity that South Park is known for are what truly make this game shine.

The game does well drawing from the plethora of characters and jokes that the show has cemented in comedic history. This does mean there is one necessary warning for anyone looking to play this game; it is completely intended for South Park fans. Anyone offended by the show is guaranteed to be more offended by the video game, as the video game adaptation faces none of the cencorship of cable television. With that being said, any gamer and/or fan of the show will find it hard to stop playing at times. The game handles like an extended episode of the show. Except for the occasional inventory screen or message, it is hard to tell the difference between the show and the game. All the hard work in development truly paid off.

With the impressive list of what the game does well, there are a few let downs on the other side of things. The game’s turn-based system is handled perfectly, but there is a thrown in timing sensitive aspect added to the fighting that doesn’t always feel like it responds to your input accurately. While this doesn’t do much to take away from the spot-on performance of the game, it can get a little annoying in the heat of a big fight.

Not so much a performance issue but a design choice, female gamers will be disappointed to find out that they can’t fight through the epic battle for The Stick of Truth as a little girl alongside the cast of the show. While the world of Dungeons and Dragons is not one often traveled in the company of a fair lady, girl gamers are a real thing. There were also some memorable characters from the show’s history that were disappointingly left out. While the exclusion of some of these characters, such as Michael Jackson, may not be too surprising, many of these inclusions may have just been cut over the course of the game’s development. After changing hands so many times, different creative minds along the way may have felt differently about certain characters. The other theory is that some of these characters may be introduced through downloadable content later on.

Now that the game is out, the quest for The Stick of Truth comes calling, will you answer?

© 2016 Tucson Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Oro Valley Audiology

Oro Valley AudiologyAddress: 2542 E Vistoso Commerce Loop Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85755Phone:(520) ...

Friday 05/06/2016

'Battlefield 1' announced: Set in WW1

Wednesday 05/04/2016

'Far Harbor' coming May 19

Wednesday 04/27/2016

Star Fox Zero Review: New game falls short of being best entry in series

Monday 04/18/2016

DOOM: Closed Beta First Impressions

Monday 04/04/2016

Gamer hits level 100 in ‘World of Warcraft’ on dancepad

Wednesday 03/23/2016

Pokken Tournament Review

Monday 03/14/2016

‘Fallout 4’ getting first DLC release March 22

Friday 02/26/2016

Pokémon celebrating 20th birthday with two new games, other releases

Thursday 02/25/2016

Fire Emblem Fates Review

Tuesday 02/02/2016

YouTube Randomly Restricting Creators

Friday 01/29/2016

EA exec promises to regain trust of PC gamers

Thursday 12/31/2015

Valve issues apology for Steam issues on Christmas Sony exec announces “an unprecedented rush” of titles coming to the PS4 soon

Tuesday 12/15/2015

Don’t Miss the Free Rare Pokémon!

Friday 12/04/2015

“Psychonauts 2” in development and using crowdfunding

Monday 11/30/2015

Xenoblade Chronicles X Review

Sunday 11/29/2015

Swedish court upholds access to The Pirate Bay and other illegal sharing websites

Wednesday 11/25/2015

Videogame Overload

Tuesday 11/24/2015

Mark Cuban fined for interview antics while at gaming tournament

Friday 11/20/2015

Mark Cuban joining others in charity gaming tournament this weekend

Wednesday 11/18/2015

'Fallout 4' delivers on the post apocalyptic hype

Monday 11/16/2015

Yo-Kai Watch Review

Thursday 11/05/2015

Yoshi’s Woolly World Review

Wednesday 10/28/2015

The Exploding Excitement for Fallout 4

Monday 10/26/2015

Fallout 4 is complete and coming soon

Tuesday 10/13/2015

Star Wars Battlefront Beta Impressions

Tuesday 10/06/2015

Humble Bundle’s New Monthly Bundle

Monday 10/05/2015

Princess Leia bikini sold at auction for nearly $100,000 Local game developer destroys Arizona in debut title, "Rubber and Lead"

Wednesday 09/30/2015

New “ARK: Survival Evolved” update introduces two new biomes

Tuesday 09/29/2015

Rainbow Six Siege First Impressions

Monday 09/28/2015

"Minecraft" officially back in development for virtual reality

Thursday 09/10/2015

Castle Crashers Remastered: The Old is New Again

Tuesday 09/01/2015

Phoenix 'Game On' Expo Highlights

Thursday 08/20/2015

Heroes of the Storm Rewards Diablo Players

Monday 08/17/2015

Zach Galifianakis set to join cast of "Lego Batman" — as the Joker

Monday 08/10/2015

Japanese engineers create pocket-sized personal transporter: The WalkCar

Friday 08/07/2015

“World of Warcraft: Legion” officially announced Crackdown 3 Revealed at Gamescom

Monday 08/03/2015

New Hearthstone Expansion Coming This Month

Friday 07/31/2015

New World Of Warcraft Expansion to be announced at gamescon Steam Marketplace: Quantity over Quality

Wednesday 07/29/2015

Game Over: Pixels Review

Monday 07/27/2015

Retro Refresh

Thursday 07/23/2015

Xbox 360 Disc Problems Coming Back To Haunt Microsoft

Monday 07/20/2015

"Rocket League" is brimming with potential

Friday 07/17/2015

"Devil’s Third" first impressions

Tuesday 07/14/2015

Nintendo President Satoru Iwata Passes Away

Monday 07/13/2015

The Pirate Bay founders acquitted

Monday 07/06/2015

The Power of Reddit: Users Holding the Website Hostage
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

What do you think should happen with Som and Krystin Lisaius' child?

Som and Krystin Lisaius, two members of Tucson’s local media scene, have found themselves in a deeply troubling situation after taking their 4-month-old daughter to a local hospital, where cocaine was found the child’s system.

Total Votes: 118

Loading…
Loading…